Christmas and New Year arrangements

Published Tuesday, 09 December 2014

THE following opening times during the Christmas and New Year period have been announced by the Borough Council, together with the arrangements that have been made for various council services:

Council office closing times

Borough Council services at the Hinckley Hub will close at 3.30pm on Wednesday 24 December and re-open on Monday 29 December. We will also close at 3.30pm on Wednesday 31 December and re-open on Monday 5 January 2015.

In an emergency call 01455 251137

Hinckley Leisure Centre 

Hinckley Leisure Centre will close at 12 noon on Wednesday 24 December (last admission at 11.30am) and reopen at 6.30am on Sunday 28 December. The centre opening hours will be 6.30am to 7pm from Sunday 28 December to Tuesday 30 December. The centre will close at 12 noon on Wednesday 31 December and remain closed on Thursday 1 January 2015. Usual opening hours apply from Friday 2 January 2015 onwards.

Christmas markets

Over the Christmas period there will be a market every day from Friday 13 December to Monday 23 December. The market will also be open on Saturday 27 December and Monday 29 December. Markets will be back to the usual Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays from Friday 2 January 2015.

Refuse and recycling arrangements

Collections will not take place on Thursday 25 December, Friday 26 December and Thursday 1 January 2015.

Alternative arrangements have been made to collect the refuse and recycling on other days as follows:
  • Refuse due on Thursday 25 December will be collected on Wednesday 24 December
  • Recycling (blue-lid) due on Thursday 25 December will be collected on Saturday 20 December 
  • Refuse due on Friday 26 December will be collected on Monday 29 December
  • Recycling (blue-lid) due on Friday 26 December will be collected on Saturday 27 December 
  • Refuse due on Thursday 1 January will be collected on Wednesday 31 December
  • Recycling due (blue-lid) on Thursday 1 January will be collected on Saturday 3 January 2015
The garden waste (brown bin) collection service will be suspended for two weeks during the Christmas and new year period (Monday 22 December – Sunday 4 January 2015). Residents can find full details of collection dates on their collection calendars.

Christmas parking

The Borough Council is allowing free parking in the Mount Road and Lower Bond Street car parks every Saturday until 31 March 2015 in a bid to entice more shoppers into the town and increase trade for shopkeepers. The Borough Council has also secured free parking on the North Warwickshire and Hinckley College car park (access from Druid Street) on Saturday 13 and 20 December.

In addition, shoppers can park for free on St Marys short stay car park every Saturday after 3pm.  

Community Houses

Earl Shilton Community House on Peggs Close, Earl Shilton will close for the Christmas period on Friday 19th December and will reopen Monday 5 January 2015.

Barwell Community House on Bradgate Road will close for the Christmas period on Monday 22 December and will re-open on Monday 5 January 2015.

Thornton Community Project on St Peters Drive will close for the Christmas period on Thursday 18 December and will reopen Tuesday 6 January 2015.

Gwendoline Community House in Hinckley will close for the Christmas period on Thursday 18 December and will reopen Monday 12 January 2015.

Last updated: 10/12/2014 16:13