Local Plan review 2016 to 2036

Scope, issues and options consultation

What was it all about?

Between 6 January and 4 March 2018 we asked for your views on what the scope of the Local Plan review should be, the issues that needed addressing and our options.

You can still read the document, but you won’t be able to comment on this stage.

We also asked for comments on our revised Statement of Community Involvement as well as submissions via a ‘Call for Sites’.

We also reviewed our Core Strategy (adopted 2009), Area Action Plans (adopted  2011 and 2014) and our Site Allocations and Development Management Policies Development Plan Document (adopted July 2016).

How we involved you

We made the document and supporting evidence available on-line, at the Hinckley Hub and at local libraries.

We held drop in sessions and themed presentation in a variety of places across the borough:

  •  Sainsbury's, Hinckley
  •  Markfield Community Centre
  •  Bagworth Community Centre
  •  Burbage Millennium Hall
  •  Earl Shilton Age UK
  •  Barwell George Ward Centre
  •  Market Bosworth St Peters Parish Hall
  •  Sheepy Magna Memorial Hall
  •  Newbold Verdon sports pavilion
  •  Witherley Village Hall
  •  Hinckley Market
  •  Groby Village Hall
  •  Desford Library
  •  Atkins Building, Hinckley
  •  Burbage Farmers Market

We used social media (Facebook and Twitter) to publicise and get people talking about our plans.

We attended Parish Council meetings, the Parish Forum and the Older Voices Forum.

Results

We will use the results from this consultation to prepare a Preferred Options Plan. The Preferred Options plan will include more detailed policy proposals, potential site allocations as well as further evidence. The Local Development Scheme contains details on the future stages of the Local Plan process.

Reviewing the Local Plan

It is important to have an up-to-date Local Plan in place so that planning decisions can be made with local people having a say on setting local policies. The Local Plan review is being carried out in stages. Our timetable for preparing the new Local Plan is set out below, and  we have already carried out some consultation with you at the following stages (provisional timetable):

      • Growth workshops (Jan 2016)
      • Scope, issues and options consultation (Jan 2018 to Feb 2018)
      • Draft Local Plan 'Preferred Options' (Dec 2018 to Feb 2019)
      • Pre-submission (Jan 2020 to Feb 2020)
      • Estimated examination in public (Nov 2020)

We aim to have a new Local Plan adopted in 2021.

Last updated: ‎16‎/‎04‎/‎2018‎ ‎10‎:‎31‎:‎20