Air quality

Air quality

Under the Environment Act 1995 the National Air Quality Strategy outlines recommended maximum levels of eight pollutants.

These eight pollutants are:

  • Benzene
  • 1,3 Butandiene
  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Sulphur Dioxide
  • Lead
  • Particulates
  • Nitrogen Dioxide
  • Ozone

The maximum levels have been devised by the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards (EPAQS) based on medical and scientific evidence. The most important pollutant for the borough is Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) which is associated with vehicles.

Within the National Air Quality Strategy all local authorities have to assess the present and future air quality of their area in relation to the requirements of the National Air Quality Strategy and identify the main sources of the pollutants affecting air quality.

More about air quality: stages in air quality monitoring

Air quality management areas in Hinckley and Bosworth (AQMA's)

There are no AQMA's in the borough currently.