Electoral boundaries

The Boundary Commission

The Boundary Commission for England is responsible for conducting a general review of all parliamentary constituency boundaries every eight to twelve years.

The Boundary Commission has published its final recommendations on the review of parliamentary constituencies in Leicestershire and Rutland in January 2005.

The Commission submitted its review of the whole of England to the Secretary of State and were approved on 13 June 2007. Any changes to constituencies would take effect at the general election following the making of the statutory order. In this interval of time, any elections would be held on current constituency boundaries. 

For further information visit the Boundary Commission for England website

2018 Boundary Review

The Boundary Commission for England is conducting a review on the current constituency boundaries. The commission must make its final recommendations in September 2018. View their website for further information on the 2018 review including their initial recommendations (bce2018.org.uk)

Last updated: 03/03/2017 13:28