Christmas and New Year arrangements

Published Tuesday, 06 December 2016

THE following opening times during the Christmas and New Year period have been announced by the Borough Council, together with the arrangements that have been made for various council services.

Council office closing times

Borough Council services at the Hinckley Hub will close at 4.30pm on Friday 23 December and reopen on Wednesday 28 December at 8.30am. Borough Council services at the Hinckley Hub will also be closed on Monday 2 January 2017. In an emergency call 01455 251137.

Hinckley Leisure Centre

Hinckley Leisure Centre will close at noon on Saturday 24 December (last admission at 11am) and reopen as usual from 6.30am on Wednesday 28 December. The centre opening hours will be from 6.30am to 7pm from Wednesday 28 December to Friday 30 December. The centre will close at noon on Saturday 31 December (last admission 11am) and remain closed on Sunday 1 January 2017. Usual opening hours apply from Monday 2 January 2017 onwards. For further information please visit Hinckley Leisure Centre (placesforpeopleleisure.org)

Christmas markets

Over the Christmas period there will be a market every day from Friday 16 December to Saturday 24 December. There will be no market on Monday 26 December or Monday 2 January 2017. Markets will be back to the usual Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays from Friday 6 January 2017.

Refuse and recycling arrangements

There will be alternate arrangements for collections due on Monday 26 December, Tuesday 27 December and Monday 2 January. All other refuse and recycling collections will continue as usual during the Christmas and New Year period. However, the garden waste (brown bin) collection service will be suspended for two weeks during the Christmas and New Year period (Tuesday 20 December to Monday 2 January 2017). 

Alternate arrangements for refuse (black bin) and recycling (blue-lid bin) collections due on Monday 26 December, Tuesday 27 December and Monday 2 January are as follows:

  • Refuse due on Monday 26 December will be collected on Friday 23 December
  • Recycling (blue-lid) due on Monday 26 December will be collected on Saturday 24 December
  • Refuse due on Tuesday 27 December will be collected on Wednesday 28 December
  • Recycling (blue-lid) due on Tuesday 27 December will be collected on Tuesday 27 December (no change)
  • Refuse due on Monday 2 January will be collected on Friday 30 December
  • Recycling (blue-lid) due on Monday 2 January will be collected on Monday 2 January 2017 (no change)

Residents can find full details of collection dates on their collection calendars

Community houses

Barwell and Gwendoline Community Houses will close for the Christmas period on Thursday 15 December at 2.15pm. Earl Shilton Community House will close for the Christmas period on Friday 16 December at 2.15pm. All three Community houses will reopen at 9.15am on Tuesday 3 January 2017.